

Intercollegiate Stroke Working Party members

Chair

Professor Martin James, Consultant Stroke Physician, Royal Devon Universty Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Clinical Professor, University of Exeter Medical School; Clinical Director, King's College London Stroke Programme

Association of Chartered Physiotherapists Interested in Neurology

Professor Sarah Tyson, Professor of Rehabilitation, University of Manchester

Association of British Neurologists

Professor David Werring, Professor of Clinical Neurology, UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology

British and Irish Association of Stroke Physicians

Professor Gillian Mead, Professor of Stroke and Elderly Care Medicine, University of Edinburgh; Honorary Consultant Physician, NHS Lothian; Joint Co-ordinating Editor of Cochrane Stroke, President of British and Irish Association of Stroke Physicians (2022-23)

Professor Rustam Al-Shahi Salman, Professor of Clinical Neurology and Head of Cerebrovascular Research Group, University of Edinburgh; Honorary Consultant Neurologist, NHS Lothian; President of British and Irish Association of Stroke Physicians (2020-21)

British and Irish Orthoptic Society

Professor Fiona Rowe, Professor in Orthoptics, University of Liverpool

British Dietetic Association

Ms Cara Lewis, Stroke Dietitian, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

British Geriatrics Society

Professor Raj Rajkumar, Chair in Geriatric & Stroke Medicine, Brighton and Sussex Medical School

British Psychological Society

Dr Mark Griffiths, Consultant Lead Clinical Psychologist, Professional Lead and Head of Psychology, Clinical Health Psychology Services, Liverpool Heart & Chest Hospital Foundation Trust

Dr Shirley Thomas, Associate Professor in Rehabilitation Psychology, University of Nottingham

British Society of Neuroradiologists

Professor Kyriakos Lobotesis, Head of Specialty Interventional Neuroradiology, Consultant Neuroradiologist, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

British Society of Rehabilitation Medicine/Society for Research in Rehabilitation

Professor Diane Playford, Honorary Professor University of Warwick, Consultant in Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine

College of Paramedics

Mr Joseph Dent, Advanced Clinical Practitioner, Salford Royal NHS Trust

Getting It Right First Time

Dr David Hargroves, Consultant and Clinical Lead for Stroke Medicine, East Kent Hospital University Foundation Trust and NHS England South East (Kent, Surrey, Sussex, BOB and Wessex); National Clinical Lead for Stroke Medicine, Getting it Right First Time programme for NHS England; National Speciality Adviser for Stroke Medicine, NHS England.

Health Economics Advisor

Professor Anita Patel, Director - Health Economics Consulting, University of East Anglia; Director - Health Economics & Evaluation, Ipsos UK; Director, Anita Patel Health Economics Consulting Ltd.

King's College London Stroke Programme

Dr Ajay Bhalla, Consultant Stroke Physician, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust; Associate Clinical Director, King's College London Stroke Programme

Ms Louise Clark, Head of Occupational Therapy, AHP Lead for Stroke, Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust; SSNAP Associate Director, King's College London Stroke Programme

Dr Rebecca Fisher, National Stroke Programme Manager, Clinical Policy Unit, NHS England; Associate Director, King's College London Stroke Programme

Dr Andrew Hill, Consultant Stroke Physician and CCIO, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals; Project Director for the SSNAP Data Science Project King's College London

Patient representatives

Ms Marney Williams

Mr Danny Lloyd

National Clinical Director for Stroke, England

Dr Deborah Lowe, National Clinical Director for Stroke, National Specialty Advisor for Stroke Medicine, Getting it Right First Time, NHS Improvement; Consultant Stroke Physician, Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Northern Ireland Multidisciplinary Association of Stroke Teams

Dr Patricia Gordon, Stroke Consultant, Royal Victoria Hospital Belfast

Mrs Nicola Moran, Clinical Physiotherapy Specialist in Stroke, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust

Royal College of Nursing

Ms Ines De Sousa De Abreu, Senior Clinical Nurse Specialist for Rough Sleeping Initiative, Neurorehabilitation CNS, Brain injury and Neurovascular CNS, East Sussex Healthcare Trust; Neurosciences Forum Committee Steering Group member

Dr Gill Cumberbatch, Stroke Nurse Consultant, St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust



Royal College of General Practitioners

Dr Iain Marshall, GP Partner, Greyswood Practice London; Clinical Academic Fellow King's College London; Royal College of General Practitioners Clinical Representative for Stroke

Royal College of Occupational Therapists and Special Section Neurological Practice

Professor Avril Drummond, Professor of Healthcare Research and Occupational Therapist, University of Nottingham; Trustee Elizabeth Casson Trust

Royal College of Physicians

Professor Thompson Robinson, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Head of the College of Life Sciences and Dean of Medicine, University of Leicester

Royal College of Radiologists

Professor Philip White, Professor of Interventional and Diagnostic Neuroradiology, Newcastle University; Honorary Consultant Neuroradiologist, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Royal College of Speech & Language Therapists

Professor Sue Pownall, Head of Speech & Language Therapy and Clinical Lead in Dysphagia, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Stroke Association

Dr Rubina Ahmed, Associate Director of Systems Engagement, and Interim Executive Director of Locality Impact, Stroke Association

Mrs Juliet Bouverie, Chief Executive, Stroke Association

Welsh Government Stroke Implementation Group

Dr Shakeel Ahmad, National Clinical Lead for Stroke for Wales, Consultant Stroke Physician, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff & Vale University Health Board; National Clinical Lead for Stroke Wales

Ms Niki Turner, Welsh National Allied Health Professional Lead for Stroke, Stroke Implementation Group, NHS Wales Health Collaborative; Stroke Service Manager Cardiff and Vale University Health Board